Strolling San Fran

I was up early with the time change and without my partner in crime Elai, I knew I had to get started on research for the best part of travel–food. I selected Brenda’s French Soul Food for its rave reviews; its popularity was confirmed by the 20 person lineup before it even opened the doors at 8. The fun atmosphere, friendly staff, pulled pork eggs benedict, and ghiradelli chocolate beignet did not disappoint. 

 
Afterwards, I went for a walk through the civic all the way to Alamo Square to see the Painted Ladies–made famous by Full House. Though they are lovely, they are definitely not the only ornate colourful townhouses worth admiring 

 
I walked back through a really cute up and coming area called Hayes Valley–filled with shops, cafes, and cool installations. I headed towards Fishermans Wharf to tour the waterfront and meet up with my friend from work. Of course it would have been wrong not to make a stop in the original Ghiradelli shop when passing through Ghiradelli Square.
 We headed towards Lombard Street–famous for its garden-lined switchbacks. Most cars driving the street were clearly tourists from their gopro filming; however the street is lined with real homes and  getting out of the driveway in a hurry would be impossible. I had heard prior to my visit that SF was hilly, and let me say that this is an understatement.

We hopped in Lisa’s car and made our way to Golden Gate park. The park is massive and the highlight for us was, without a doubt, people watching at the park’s outdoor roller rink. Next we strolled around the adjacent neighbourhood–Haight Ashbury–as per Lisa’s plane mate’s suggestion. The nieghbourhood is colourful to say the least and home to an eclectic mix of shops.  

We finished the night with amazing Greek food and were joined by Lisa’s friend from exchange. All in all, a great action-packed first day in SF with beautiful weather. 

Leave a Reply

